BOOKS, BOOKS, BOOKS!

August 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm Leave a comment

So…..it’s been a while since the last post. But I am going to make it up to y’all and share some of the BEST new YA lit that I have had the joy to indulge in reading the last few months. I suggest that you read AT LEAST one of these excellent books…if not all!

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE & BONE
by Laini Taylor

I never thought that a book with angels and chimera would actually interest me. Thankfully, I put my feelings aside and read this wonderful book (first one in a series!) Karou is a blue-haired art student living in Prague (one of my FAVORITE cities!) who carries a sketch book of hideous creatures. The thing is, these creatures are real…and they are the only family that she has ever known. I won’t give anything else away…you’ll just have to read it yourself!

RAILSEA
by China Mieville

This is one INCREDIBLE book. I can’t say it enough! If you can get past the quirky format that China writes in (trust me…you will), this is one book that you MUST read this year. Loosely based on the classic story, Moby-Dick (do they make you read this is school anymore?), but instead of a whale, they are tracking a giant, white mole. Sound crazy? It is..but in a good way. Even if you don’t like science fiction or fantasy, you will like this. I promise.

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS
by John Green

Could John Green get any better? Yes. Yes he can. This HANDS DOWN is the best book I read all year, and is definitely in my top 10 fave books EVER. Heartbreaking, funny, romantic (did I say heartbreaking?), and completely WONDERFUL. Two terminally ill cancer patients meet and fall in love. Do I need to say more? This is Tom at his finest. I am buying a copy of this for my personal library…and you should too.

THE DROWNED CITIES
by Paolo Bacigalupi

Now that I can say this author’s last name correctly (total FAIL), it’s time to rave about his latest book. This futuristic story is a companion novel to his great book, Shipbreaker (read it if you haven’t already). Cities have crumbled, anarchy is rampant, and child soldiers are the norm. This book is quite violent- some may not have the stomach. I plead with you to get beyond that and indulge in this edge-of-your-couch story about a future world that seems oh so close to home.

THE TALK-FUNNY GIRL
by Roland Merullo

A wonderfully quiet story about a girl that is raised by back-woods parents that isolate themselves so much that they speak in their own hybrid dialect. The title and the cover may not seem exciting, but I have to say, I could not put this book down until the very last page! (Yep. This is a one-sit read.) It feels altogether REAL, like the character of this novel is actually alive and breathing, and that she might give an interview about her harrowing experience on Dateline. READ THIS BOOK. Period.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Books. Tags: , , , , , , .

Just Pho Fun September Teen Events!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who are we?

Goshen Public Library
601 South Fifth Street
Goshen, IN 46526
574.533.9531

Categories


