News Flash! Late Breaking News from GPL!

January 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm Leave a comment

It was exactly 4:51 p.m. on Friday, January 14th. Michael came into the workroom and asked me if I read If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

To catch everyone up to speed, when Michael asks me whether or not I have read a certain book, usually it is followed by one of us disliking the book and the other liking it. In the 3 years that I have worked at GPL, there is only one other book that  we have both wholeheartedly enjoyed. It was The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. You should read it if you haven’t.

I, of course, took the bait when Michael asked about If I Stay. I read it over a year ago and thought it was beautifully written, so my response was, “Yes.”  He asked, “Did you like it?” I said, “Yes?” Then, I braced myself for the all of the reasons as to why Michael disliked the book that I liked.

Michael immediately grabbed his chest as though he was having a heart attack. I panicked. But don’t worry, he wasn’t having a heart attack. Michael was in shock because he enjoyed If I Stay, too. The practical side of Michael enjoyed its brevity, which is a sign of a good editor. The reader in Michael thought that it was a brand new story being told with characters that felt real and complex.

There you have it, folks.  It is officially documented that Michael and I like not 1, BUT 2 books.  Therefore, as a librarian, it is my duty to suggest that you pick up a copy of If I Stay by Gayle Forman.  Hopefully, you will enjoy it as much as Michael and I did.

Entry filed under: Books.

Teen Read, Teen Reviewed – The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who are we?

Goshen Public Library
601 South Fifth Street
Goshen, IN 46526
574.533.9531

Categories


